

DAVID Y. IGE GOVERNOR JOSH GREEN LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS INSURANCE DIVISION

335 MERCHANT STREET, ROOM 213, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813 P.O. BOX 3614, HONOLULU, HAWAII 96811 Phone Number: (808) 586-2790 Fax Number: (808) 587-6714 insurance.hawaii.gov CATHERINE P. AWAKUNI COLÓN DIRECTOR

JO ANN M. UCHIDA TAKEUCHI DEPUTY DIRECTOR

COLIN M. HAYASHIDA

July 24, 2020

## DECLARATION FROM THE STATE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER REGARDING ASSISTANCE OF NONRESIDENT UNLICENSED INDEPENDENT ADJUSTERS DUE TO HURRICANE DOUGLAS

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes ("Haw. Rev. Stat.") § 431:9-201(b), Insurance Commissioner Colin M. Hayashida is issuing this declaration authorizing temporary assistance of nonresident unlicensed independent adjusters due to Hurricane Douglas. The Insurance Commissioner has decided to allow nonresident unlicensed independent adjusters to operate in the State temporarily to help handle the amount of work due to Hurricane Douglas. The Insurance Commissioner wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies can and will timely respond to homeowners' needs.

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-201(b) allows nonresident independent adjusters to operate in Hawaii without a license for up to 30 days from the date of registration if they provide the Insurance Commissioner with:

- 1. A certified copy of the adjuster's current license issued by another state that has licensing requirements substantially similar to Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-222, and
- 2. A letter, on the letterhead of the insurance company, independent adjusting company, or producer using the adjuster, that satisfies the following requirements within three working days of the nonresident independent adjuster beginning work:
  - a. The name of the nonresident independent adjuster;
  - b. The nonresident independent adjuster's Hawaii mailing and business addresses and phone numbers; and
  - c. The nonresident independent adjuster's permanent home and business addresses and phone numbers.

Due to COVID-19 and necessary exemptions to quarantine requirements for nonresident independent adjusters to perform work, the names of all nonresident adjusters must be provided to the Insurance Division at least 1 day prior to their arrival in Hawaii. Declaration re: Hurricane Douglas Page 2

All nonresident independent adjusters will have their temperatures checked upon arrival in Hawaii and are required to present the following:

- 1. A completed heath screening form;
- 2. A copy of the letter required by Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-201(b) above stating: name of the nonresident independent adjuster; nonresident independent adjuster's Hawaii mailing and business addresses and phone numbers; and the nonresident independent adjuster's permanent home and business addresses and phone numbers;
- 3. Detailed information about the place of lodging; and
- 4. Contact information.

In addition, Governor David Y. Ige's 10<sup>th</sup> Proclamation Related to the COVID-19 Emergency must be complied with by any nonresident independent adjuster when NOT actively doing adjuster work onsite:

- 1. Unless immediately starting adjuster work onsite upon arrival in Hawaii, the nonresident independent adjuster must proceed directly from the airport to their designated accommodations or quarantine location, which is the location identified and affirmed by the adjuster on the mandatory State of Hawai'i Department of Agriculture Plants and Animals Declaration Form.
- 2. Remain in the designated quarantine location for a period of 14 days or the duration of your stay in the State of Hawai'i, whichever is shorter.
  - Leaving a designated quarantine location for medical emergencies or to seek medical care is allowed.
- 3. No visiting any public spaces, including but not limited to pools, meeting rooms, fitness centers or restaurants.
- 4. No allowing visitors in or out of the designated quarantine location other than a physician, healthcare provider, or individual authorized to enter the designated quarantine location by the Director of HIEMA.
- 5. Comply with any and all rules or protocols related to your quarantine as set forth by your hotel or rented lodging.

For further information regarding restrictions and declarations, see the alerts page at the Hawaii Tourism Authority: <a href="https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/news/alerts/covid-19-novel-coronavirus/">https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/news/alerts/covid-19-novel-coronavirus/</a>

Failure to follow the Governor's Proclamation is a misdemeanor and punishable by a maximum fine of \$5,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.

Declaration re: Hurricane Douglas Page 3

Anyone who violates Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-201(b) shall be assessed a civil penalty up to \$5,000 for each violation. A person who knowingly violates this section shall be assessed a civil penalty not less than \$1,000 and not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

Nonresident public adjusters are specifically excluded from this Declaration until a determination is made by the Commissioner as to the need for additional public adjusters.

This Declaration will remain in effect 30 days from today unless specifically extended by the Commissioner.

Please direct any questions regarding this Declaration to the Insurance Licensing Branch at (808) 586-2788, or visit our website: <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins</u>.

Documents that satisfy the foregoing requirements in Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-201(b) should be sent to:

Email: inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov

Fax: (808) 587-6714

Hawaii Insurance Division 335 Merchant Street, Room 213 Honolulu, HI 96813

For more information and answers to frequently asked questions about the registration of emergency nonresident unlicensed adjusters, visit: <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/frequently-asked-questions-regarding-emergency-nonresident-unlicensed-adjuster-registration/</u>).

2 enthan

COLIN M. HAYASHIDA Insurance Commissioner