
          

 

 
 
   
 

Hawaii Captive Companies at 3/31/2019 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Permitted Coverages 
 Property/Casualty 
 Workers’ Compensation 
 Securitization of Insurance Risks 
 Other lines as allowed by Commissioner 

 

Organizational Structures 
 Stock 
 Non-profit 
 Mutual 
 Reciprocal 
 Limited Liability Company 

 
Class Captive Class Description Minimum Statutory Requirements 

1 Single Owner; Reinsurance only $100,000 
2 Single Owner; Direct and Reinsurance $250,000 
3 Multi-Owner; Association or Risk Retention 

 

$500,000 
4 Sponsored Captive $500,000 
5 Reinsurance or Excess Insurance Only Determined by Insurance Commissioner 

Minimum required capital and surplus determined by Insurance Commissioner based on each captive 
program. 

 
 

Tax Rate State Captive Premium Tax Rate 

0.25% $0 to $25 million 

0.15% $25 million to $50 million 

0.05% $50 million to $250 million 

0.00% $250 million and up 

 
Tax on captive’s premiums only.  No Minimum Premium Tax.  Maximum premium tax of $200,000. 
No taxation of captive premiums if premiums were previously subjected to tax in jurisdiction where 
underlying risk is located or on reinsurance premiums assumed by captive. 

 

Applicable Law: Hawaii Revised Statutes, Title 24, Chapter 431, Article 19 (Enacted May 1986) 
 
Contact Us 
Andrew J. Kurata, Deputy Commissioner and Captive Insurance Administrator 
State of Hawaii | Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs | Insurance Division | Captive Branch 
335 Merchant Street | Room 213 | Honolulu, Hawaii | 96813 
Phone (808) 586-0981 | captiveins@dcca.hawaii.gov | cca.hawaii.gov/ins/captive  
 
Links to Related Sites 
Hawaii State Government   portal.ehawaii.gov 
Hawaii Captive Insurance Council  www.hawaiicaptives.com 

 

Captive Owners by Location 

U.S. Western 153 
 Eastern 25 
 Central 22 
 Total U.S. 200 
   
Non-U.S. Asia / Pacific 33 
 Total at 3/31/2019 233 

 
 

Fees 
Initial Incorporation Fee    $  50 
Captive Application Fee  $  1,000 
Annual Business Registration Fee $  15 
Annual Captive License Fee 
 Class 1 and 2  $  300 
 Class 3  $  500 
 Class 4 and 5  $  1,000 

Captive Owners by Industry Groups 

Construction / Real Estate 68 
Health Care 31 
Telecommunications & 
Manufacturing 

44 

Retail & Other Services 27 
Financial Services 34 
Transportation / Energy 29 
 Total at 3/31/2019 233 

 

http://www.hawaiicaptives.com/

