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DECLARATION FROM THE STATE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER REGARDING 

ASSISTANCE OF NONRESIDENT UNLICENSED INDEPENDENTADJUSTERS 
FOR HURRICANES MADELINE AND LESTER 

 
As of August 30, Governor David Y. Ige signed an emergency proclamation in 

anticipation of the arrival of Hurricanes Madeline and Lester, which are forecast to reach the 
State beginning August 31. 

 
Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes ("Haw. Rev. Stat.") § 431:9-201(b), Insurance 

Commissioner Gordon I. Ito has decided to allow nonresident unlicensed independent adjusters 
to operate in the State temporarily to help handle the amount of work generated by Hurricanes 
Madeline and Lester that may exceed the islands’ current capacity.  The Insurance Commissioner 
wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies can and will timely respond to 
homeowners' needs. 

 
Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-201(b) allows nonresident independent adjusters to operate in 

Hawaii without a license for up to 30 days from the date of registration if they provide the 
Insurance Commissioner with:  

 
1. A certified copy of the adjuster's current license issued by another state that has 

licensing requirements substantially similar to Haw. Rev. Stat. § 431:9-222, and 
 

2. A letter, on the letterhead of the insurance company, independent adjusting company, 
or producer using the adjuster, that satisfies the following requirements within three 
working days after the nonresident independent adjuster begins work: 

 
a. The name of the nonresident independent adjuster; 
b. The nonresident independent adjuster's Hawaii mailing and business addresses 

and phone numbers, and; 
c. The nonresident independent adjuster's permanent home and business addresses 

and phone numbers. 
 
Nonresident public adjusters are specifically excluded from this Declaration until a 

determination is made by the Commissioner as to the need for additional public adjusters. 
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Anyone who violates this section shall be assessed a civil penalty up to $5,000 for each 
violation.  A person who knowingly violates this section shall be assessed a civil penalty not less 
than $1,000 and not more than $10,000 for each violation. 

 
This Declaration will remain in effect until the Insurance Commissioner determines and 

declares otherwise, in any event not later than 60 days from today unless specifically extended. 
 
Please direct any questions regarding this Declaration to the Insurance Licensing Branch 

at (808) 586-2788, or visit our website:  http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/. 
 
Documents that satisfy the foregoing requirements should be sent to: 
 
  Email:  inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov 
 
  Fax:  (808) 587-6714 
 
  Hawaii Insurance Division 
  335 Merchant Street, Room 213 
  Honolulu, HI  96813 
 
For more information and answers to frequently asked questions about the registration of 

emergency nonresident unlicensed adjusters, visit: http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/frequently-asked-
questions-regarding-emergency-nonresident-unlicensed-adjuster-registration/. 


