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ADMISSION FEE 

Insurers 
 
   Preliminary Certificate of Authority ( Domestic Insurer Only) 

Mutual Benefit Societies (“MBS”) and Fraternal Benefit Societies (“FBS”): 
Application for Certificate of Registration/Preliminary COA,  

(due at time of application)….,……………………………………  $1,500 
Issuance of Certificate of Registration/Preliminary COA 

(due before issuance) ……………………………………….………….  $150 
All Other Insurers (except Health maintenance Organizations): 

Application for Solicitation Permit  
            (due at time of application)…...............……………………………  $1,500 

Issuance of Solicitation Permit 
       (due before issuance of permit)…………………………..………... $150 
   Certificate of Authority /Registration (Foreign & Alien Insurer) 

Insurers 
Application (due at time of application) ……… ………………………… $900 

 Issuance  .……………………………………… ………………………… $600 
Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan     

   (Vehicle writer only, due before issuance of C/A)……..…………... $1,000 
Purchasing Groups and Foreign Risk Retention Groups  

Application/Registration (due at time of application)……....……………. $300 
 
 

ANNUAL FEE 

Insurers 
 
   Annual Service (all insurers including C/A extension,  

    due on or before August 16)   ………………………………………..…............. $600 
   Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan   

(Vehicle Writer licensed in Vehicle/Casualty Only),  …………..…………. $1,000 
(due on or before August 16) 

   Assessments (pursuant to HRS §431:2-215)   …………………………….  Determined Yearly  
 
Purchasing Groups / Foreign Risk Retention Groups 
 
   Annual Service (all PGs and Foreign RRGs, due on or before August 16)…….…………$150       
 

For updated payment methods, go to: 
 (PDF) OPTins – Notice of New Online Processing System for Annual Service Fee 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/files/2016/06/OPTins-2016-Annual-Service-Extension-Fee-HI.pdf
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OTHER FEES 
 

Service of Process (due at time of service)       $12  
 
Filing of Articles of Incorporation        No Fee  
 
Filing of Bylaws          No Fee  
 
Name Change           No Fee  
 
Mergers and Acquisitions        No Fee 
 
Redomestication          No Fee  
 
Addition/Deletion of Line of Business      No Fee  
 
Certificate of Deposit  (Licensed Insurer Only)     No Fee  
 
Certificate of Compliance (Licensed Insurer Only)     No Fee  
 
If you have questions regarding fees, please contact Sally Bautista at:  
Phone: (808) 586-7414  
Fax: (808) 586-3873  
E-mail: Sally.D.Bautista@dcca.hawaii.gov  
  

TAXES 
 
Premium Taxes – Authorized Insurers Only  
  
TYPE       RATE 
 
LIFE        2.75%  
 
A & H        4.265%  
 
P & C        4.265%  
 
Title        4.265%  
 
OCEAN MARINE      0.8775%  
(Gross Underwriting Profit)  
 
ANNUITY       0%  
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Annual Tax Filing:   Statements and tax are due annually on or before March 1st.  
 Monthly Tax Filings:  Effective July 1, 2010, all authorized insurers must now file  

MONTHLY Premium Tax Statements for gross premiums  
reported during the month (HRS §§ 431:7-201 and 202). The  
monthly statement and any applicable payment shall be due on  
or before the 20 day of the calendar month following the  
month in which the taxes accrue (2010 Session Laws of  
Hawaii – Act 22). 
 

If you have questions regarding premium taxes, please contact Gale Miyazaki at:  
 
Phone: (808) 587-6741  
Fax:     (808) 586-3873  
E-mail: Gale.E.Miyazaki@dcca.hawaii.gov  

  
  

DEPOSITS* 
  

Class of Insurance     Amount Required  
 
Life        $600,000  
 
Accident and Health or Sickness    $450,000  
 
Property       $750,000  
 
Marine and Transportation     $1,000,000  
 
Vehicle       $1,000,000  
 
General Casualty      $1,500,000  
 
Surety        $1,000,000  
 
Title        $400,000  
 
Deposit for multiple classes of insurance is $2,500,000.  

  
*Deposit shall be for the benefit of all policyholders and obligees of the insurer in the United 
States. The Commissioner shall accept the certificate of the public official having supervision 
over insurance in another state pursuant to HRS §431:3-209.  

  
Checks should be made payable to DCCA, State of Hawaii unless otherwise noted.  

mailto:Gale.E.Miyazaki@dcca.hawaii.gov
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This list may not reflect all fees, taxes and assessments.  

  
If you have questions regarding deposits, please contact Sally Bautista at:  
 
Phone: (808) 586-7414 
Fax:     (808) 586-3873  
E-mail: Sally.D.Bautista@dcca.hawaii.gov 
 


