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ADMISSION FEE 

Insurers 
 

Preliminary Certificate of Authority ( Domestic Insurer Only) 
Mutual Benefit Societies (“MBS”) and Fraternal Benefit Societies (“FBS”): 

Application for Certificate of Registration/Preliminary COA, 
(due at time of application)………………………………………….$1,500 

Issuance of Certificate of Registration/Preliminary COA 
(due before issuance) ......................................................................... $150 

All Other Insurers (except Health maintenance Organizations): 
Application for Solicitation Permit 

(due at time of application) ............................................................... $1,500 
Issuance of Solicitation Permit 

(due before issuance of permit) ......................................................... $150 
Certificate of Authority /Registration (Foreign & Alien Insurer) 

Insurers 
Application (due at time of application) ...................................................... $900 
Issuance ........................................................................................................ $600 
Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan 

(Vehicle writer only, due before issuance of C/A) ............................ $1,000 
Purchasing Groups and Foreign Risk Retention Groups 

Application/Registration (due at time of application) ................................ $300 
 
 

ANNUAL FEE 

Insurers 
 

Annual Service (all insurers including C/A extension, 
due on or before August 16) .................................................................................. $600 

Hawaii Joint Underwriting Plan 
(Vehicle Writer licensed in Vehicle/Casualty Only), ..................................... $1,000 
(due on or before August 16) 

Assessments (pursuant to HRS §431:2-215) ................................................. Determined Yearly 
 

Purchasing Groups / Foreign Risk Retention Groups 
 

Annual Service (all PGs and Foreign RRGs, due on or before August 16) ....................... $150 
 

For updated payment methods, go to: 
(PDF) OPTins – Notice of New Online Processing System for Annual Service Fee 

https://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/files/2016/06/OPTins-2016-Annual-Service-Extension-Fee-HI.pdf
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OTHER FEES 
 

Service of Process (due at time of service) $12 
 

Filing of Articles of Incorporation No Fee 
 

Filing of Bylaws No Fee 
 

Name Change No Fee 
 

Mergers and Acquisitions No Fee 
 

Redomestication No Fee 
 

Addition/Deletion of Line of Business No Fee 
 

Certificate of Deposit (Licensed Insurer Only) No Fee 

Certificate of Compliance (Licensed Insurer Only) No Fee  

 
TAXES 

 

Premium Taxes – Authorized Insurers Only 
 

TYPE RATE 

LIFE 2.75% 

A & H 4.265% 

P & C 4.265% 

Title 4.265% 

OCEAN MARINE 
(Gross Underwriting Profit) 

0.8775% 

ANNUITY 0% 
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Annual Tax Filing: Statements and tax are due annually on or before March 1st. 
Monthly Tax Filings: Effective July 1, 2010, all authorized insurers must now file 

MONTHLY Premium Tax Statements for gross premiums 
reported during the month (HRS §§ 431:7-201 and 202). The 
monthly statement and any applicable payment shall be due on 
or before the 20 day of the calendar month following the 
month in which the taxes accrue (2010 Session Laws of 
Hawaii – Act 22). 

 
 

DEPOSITS* 
 

Class of Insurance Amount Required 

Life $600,000 

Accident and Health or Sickness $450,000 

Property $750,000 

Marine and Transportation $1,000,000 

Vehicle $1,000,000 

General Casualty $1,500,000 

Surety $1,000,000 

Title $400,000 
 

Deposit for multiple classes of insurance is $2,500,000. 
 

*Deposit shall be for the benefit of all policyholders and obligees of the insurer in the United 
States. The Commissioner shall accept the certificate of the public official having supervision 
over insurance in another state pursuant to HRS §431:3-209. 

 
Checks should be made payable to DCCA, State of Hawaii unless otherwise noted. 
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This list may not reflect all fees, taxes and assessments. 

If you have questions regarding fees, contact Certification & Agency Exam Section at: 
Phone: (808) 586-3870 
Fax: (808) 586-3873 
E-mail: ins-certexam@dcca.hawaii.gov 
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