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DECLARATION FROM THE STATE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER REGARDING  

ASSISTANCE OF NONRESIDENT UNLICENSED ADJUSTERS 
 

As of Aug. 6, 2014, Gov. Neil Abercrombie signed an emergency proclamation in 
anticipation of the arrival of hurricanes Iselle and Julio in Hawaii. 

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”) § 431:9-201(b), Insurance Commissioner 
Gordon I. Ito has determined that nonresident adjusters can operate in the state without a 
Hawaii license to assist with the anticipated amount of work that could be more than current 
capacity in the islands.  

The Insurance Division wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies will be 
able to respond to the homeowners' needs within a reasonable time. 

Nonresident adjusters must comply with the following in order to operate in the state 
without a license pursuant to this statute for up to 30 days from the date of registration: 

 
1. Provide to the Insurance Commissioner a certified copy of the adjuster's current 

license issued in another state that has substantially similar licensing requirements to 
HRS § 431:9-222.   
 

2. Within three (3) working days of the commencement of work by the nonresident 
adjuster, the insurance company, independent adjusting company, or producer that 
is using the adjuster shall provide on its letterhead to the Insurance Commissioner: 

 
a. The name of the nonresident adjuster; 
b. The nonresident adjuster's Hawai`i mailing and business addresses and 

phone numbers; and 
c. The nonresident adjuster's permanent home and business addresses and 

phone numbers. 
 

Any person violating this section shall be assessed a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 
for each violation. Any person who knowingly violates this section shall be assessed a civil 
penalty of not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000 for each violation. 

 
This declaration will stay in effect and in force until the insurance commissioner 

determines and declares otherwise. 
 
 Any questions regarding this notification please contact Colin Hayashida at  
(808) 586-2809.  
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Please send documents related to this declaration to: 
 
Email: inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov 
 
Fax: (808) 587-6714 

  
 Hawaii Insurance Division 

335 Merchant Street, Room 213 
Honolulu, HI 96813.  
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