Working together to reduce fraud
will lower the cost of insurance

What Can You Do?

e Inform the insurance company of your
suspicion of fraud. By law, an insurance
company is required to report a suspicious
claim within 60 days to the State Insurance
Division’s Fraud Investigations Branch.

Report-any suspicious incident to the State
Insurance Division’s Fraud Investigation
Branch on Oahu at (808) 587-7416.

Neighbor islands please call:

0 (808) 274-3141 (Kauai)

0 (808) 984-2400 (Maui)

0 (808) 974-4000 (Hawaii Island)

0 (800) 468-4644 (Molokai & Lanai)

Ask to be transferred to extension 74416

Civil Immunity

If a person, acting without malice,
provides information to the State
Insurance Division’s Fraud
Investigations Branch or any other
law enforcement agency for the
purpose of preventing,
investigating, or prosecuting
insurance fraud shall not be
subject to civil liability, except
perjury.
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State of Hawaii

Insurance Division

335 Merchant Street, Room 213
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Office: (808) 586-2796

Fax: (808) 586-2880

Facebook & Twitter: InsuranceH]
cca.hawaii.gov/ins
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What is
Insurance Fraud?




Insurance Fraud Insurance fraud costs Americans $100 to $120 billion annually
Investigations Branch

The State of Hawaii’s Insurance Fraud
Investigations Branch was formed to
conduct a statewide program for the
prevention, investigation, and prosecution
of insurance fraud cases and applicable

Insurance Fraud-101

Insurance fraud can be created by false claims submitted by-palicy
holders, third-party claimants, or medical care providers. The
suspect deliberately submits false information to an insurer to obtain

state laws relating to insurance fraud. The unwarranted reimbursement on a claim or series of claims related to
Branch consists of one administrator, one an insurance policy.

staff attorney, seven investigators, and a

legal clerk.

Pursuant to the Hawaii Revised Statutes

8431:2-403, it is illegal to:
e present a false claim; Examples Of
e present false information on a claim;
e file multiple claims for the same loss Insu Fance FraUd
or injury, except when appropriate;
e provide legal assistance or counsel Falsifying a theft
with the intent to obtain benefits or 2 .
recovery through these means. InSU Fance FraUd E)btalnlng ag)O“(ay aftE_r a loss
The law applies to claims under any type of as_ eeLliiesl e el ke 2
insurance coverage, except worker’s AffeCtS Eve ryone claim .
compensation. Exaggerating property damage
e Fraud is the second claims
most costly white-collar Intentionally causing or staging
H crime in America damage or accidents
Penalties (behind tax evasion). Falsifying property receipts
An individual who commits insurance fraud Aiding, soliciting or conspiring to
may be charged with: 25 percent of every commit insurance fraud
premium dollar goes to Submitting medical provider
* (Class B feloDynEuguptipi more tiak pay for insurance fraud. claims for services not rendered
ﬁi%ooo —ten years in jail and/or $25,000 Billing for unlicensed medical

providers
Billing for complex procedures to
years in jail and/or $10,000 fine receive higher reimbursements

e Class C felony of more than $300 — five

e Misdemeanor for fraud of $300 or less —
one year in jail and/or $2,000 fine




