
FORM T-1 
01/2020 

 
 

ASSOCIATED FEES:  
Trade Name, Trademark, Service Mark Registrations 

 
• Trade Name, Trademark, Service Mark Registration: 
   Filing Fee: $25.00* 
   Expedited Review: $20.00 

 
 
 

* The filing fee for Trade Name, Trademark, and Service Mark Registrations has been reduced 
through December 31, 2020.  The filing fee will automatically readjust to the statutory amount 
of $50.00 on January 1, 2021.    
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State of Hawaii 
Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs 

Business Registration Division 
335 Merchant Street, Suite 201, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 40, Honolulu, HI 96810 

Phone: (808) 586-2727 
 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAME 
(Chapter 482, Hawaii Revised Statutes) 

 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK INK.  See instruction on next page.   
 
1. Applicant’s Name:              

   
Applicant’s Address:               

(including city, state, and zip code) 
 

2. Registration is (check one):   New OR  Renewal (Certificate No.      ) 

3. Status of Applicant (check only one):           Sole Proprietor           Corporation           Partnership           LLC           LLP 

      Unincorporated Association OR  Other (explain):         

4. If applicant is an entity, list state or country of incorporation/formation/organization:         

5. Trade Name is:               

6. Applicant is (check one):   Originator of name OR  Assignee (one to whom name was assigned to by another) 

7. Nature of business for which the trade name is being used:           

                 
 
 

I certify, under the penalties set forth in Section 482-51, Hawaii Revised Statutes, that (check one):   I am the applicant OR 

 

 I am the         of the applicant named in the foregoing application, I am authorized to  
     (Office Held) 
sign this application, and that the above statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
 
  
                                            
  (Print Name)      (Signature)     (Date) 

           
       

 

(DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY) 

 
 

         Certificate of Registration No.      
 

CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAME 
 
In accordance with the provisions of Chapter 482, Hawaii Revised Statutes, this Certificate of Registration is issued to secure the aforesaid applicant  
 
the use of the said TRADE NAME throughout the State of Hawaii for the term of five years from        
 
to       . 
 

STATE OF HAWAII      
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

 
Dated:        

 
              

(Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs)  

REGISTRATION OF A TRADE NAME WITH 
THE DEPARTMENT DOES NOT GRANT YOU 

OWNERSHIP OF THE TRADE NAME 

Nonrefundable Filing Fee: $50.00 $25.00* 
*Temporary fee reduction until 12/31/2020. 
 

*T1* 
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INFORMATION FOR APPLICANTS FOR REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAMES 
 

REGISTRATION OF A TRADE NAME WITH THE DEPARTMENT DOES NOT GRANT YOU OWNERSHIP OF THE TRADE NAME. 
 

Section 482-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, provides that an applicant for registration of trade name must file an application with the Director of 
Commerce and Consumer Affairs, certifying that the applicant is the sole and original proprietor of the trade name or the assign of the proprietor.  
Ownership of a trade name is acquired by adoption and use of the trade name.  Before filing an application, an applicant should check the 
computerized list of registered names to determine if there is a registration that is substantially identical to the name he wishes to register.  A check 
should also be made in the telephone directory of each island, the city directory and with the Department of Taxation.  When an application is filed, 
the Business Registration Division will make a search of the registrations on record to determine that there is no other registration that is the same 
or substantially identical to the trade name applied for. 
 

Section 482-3, HRS, provides that the registration will be for a term of five years from the date of filing.  Registrations may be renewed for 
additional periods of five years from the date of renewal by filing an application and $50.00* fee within six months prior to the expiration date. 
 

Section 482-6, HRS, provides that if, after registration with the Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, the trade name is not used by the 
registrant for any period of 365 consecutive days, the trade name shall be subject to revocation.  Any person desiring such revocation is required to 
file a verified petition with the Director requesting revocation of the trade name and setting forth facts indicating such nonuse by the registrant for a 
period of 365 consecutive days immediately preceding the date of filing of the petition.  After granting an opportunity for hearing to the petitioner 
and registrant, the Director shall grant or deny the petition as the facts shall warrant. 
 

Section 482-8, HRS, provides that any person claiming to be the owner of a trade name for which a certificate of registration has been issued to 
any other person, may file a verified petition with the Department for the cancellation of such registration setting forth facts in support of the claim 
for ownership.  After granting an opportunity for hearing to the petitioner and registrant, the Director shall grant or deny the petition as the facts shall 
warrant. 
 

Instructions:  Application must be typewritten or printed in black ink and must be legible.  Signature must be in black ink.  Submit application 
together with the appropriate fee. 
 

Application must be signed by the applicant if an individual.  For corporations, application must be signed by an authorized officer of the 
corporation. For general or limited partnerships, application must be signed by a general partner.  For LLC, application must be signed 
by a manager of a manager-managed company or by a member of a member-managed company.  For LLP, application must be signed by 
a partner. 
 

Line 1. State the full name of the applicant.  State the complete address (including city, state, and zip code) of the applicant. 
Line 2. Indicate whether the trade name to be registered is a new registration or a renewal of an existing registration.  Renewals must be 

received prior to the expiration date of the current registration. 
Line 3. Indicate the status of the applicant.  If you check “Other,” you must explain what type of entity the applicant is. 
Line 4. If the applicant is a corporation, partnership, or limited liability company, list the state or country in which it was incorporated, formed or 

organized. 
Line 5. State the complete trade name to be registered.  This form is not to be used to register the name of a new corporation, partnership, or 

limited liability company. 
Line 6. Indicate whether the applicant is the originator of the trade name being registered, or whether the trade name was assigned to the 

applicant. 
Line 7. State the nature of business to be transacted under the trade name. 
 

Filing Fees:  The filing fee of $25.00* is not refundable.  Expedited review fee: $20.00.  *Temporary fee reduction until 12/31/2020. 
Payments made by cash, check, or credit card are accepted.   
Make checks payable to DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS.  Dishonored check fee is $25.00. 
 

Contact information for the Business Registration Division 
 

Phone: (808) 586-2727   
  

Neighbor islands may call the following numbers followed by 6-2727 and the # sign: 
Kauai 274-3141; Maui 984-2400; Hawaii 974-4000, Lanai & Molokai 1-800-468-4644 (toll free). 
 

Fax: (808) 586-2733  
 

Email Address: breg@dcca.hawaii.gov 
 

Website: BusinessRegistrations.com 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE:  THIS MATERIAL CAN BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS.  PLEASE CALL THE BUSINESS 
REGISTRATION DIVISION SECRETARY AT 586-2744 TO SUBMIT YOUR REQUEST.  ALL BUSINESS REGISTRATION FILINGS ARE 
OPEN TO PUBLIC INSPECTION (SECTION 92F-11, HRS). 

To complete this, and/or other Hawaii business registrations online, visit Hawaii Business Express at hbe.ehawaii.gov. 
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