
Here are some things to keep in 
mind about Hawaii’s used car sales 

and warranty law. 
 

WHAT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF 
THE DEALERSHIP? 

 
The dealer must provide the following: 
 

1) a written disclosure of all material 
mechanical defects known to the 

dealer and whether any 
inspections have been conducted 
to determine if there are any; and 

 
2) a written warranty on covered 

major mechanical parts of the 
vehicle if they fail during the 
specified warranty period. 

 
(A material mechanical defect is one 

which affects the vehicle’s safety and 
use) 
 

DOES MY CAR REQUIRE A 
WARRANTY? 

 
Generally, if your car: 

 
 is less than 5 years old; 

 costs more than $1,500; 
 has between 12,000 and 75,000 

miles; 

 is not custom built or modified for 
show purposes or racing; 

 is not inoperable or deemed a “total 
loss,” 

 
it must be sold with a written warranty. 
 

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE 
DEALERSHIP IS UNABLE TO REPAIR 

MY CAR? 

 

If the dealer fails to correct  a defect or 
malfunction as required by the warranty 

after a reasonable period of time, the 
dealer must either refund your money or 
replace the car. 

 

WHAT ARE THE WARRANTY 

PERIODS? 

 

Cars with: 
 

Less than 25,000 miles – 90 days or 
5,000 miles 
 

Between 25,000 and 49,000 – 60 days 
or 3,000 miles 

 
Between 50,000 and 74,999 – 30 days 
or 1,000 miles. 

 

WHAT PARTS ARE COVERED BY THE 

WARRANTY? 

 

Only specified major mechanical parts 
are covered by this warranty.  Parts that 

are of a cosmetic nature are not 
included. 
 

Covered parts are: 
 

 Engine, including all lubricated parts, 
water pump, fuel pump, manifolds, 
engine block, cylinder head, rotary 

engine housings, flywheel gaskets, 
and seals; 

 Transmission, including the 
transmission case, internal parts, 

torque converter, gaskets, and seals, 
except four-wheel drive vehicles are 
excluded from coverage as provided 

for in this paragraph; 
 Drive axle, including front and rear 

drive axle housings and internal 
parts, axle shafts, propeller shafts, 
and universal joints, except four-

wheel drive vehicles are excluded 
from coverage as provided in this 

paragraph; 
 Brakes, including master cylinder, 

vacuum assist booster, wheel 
cylinders, hydraulic lines and fittings, 
and disc brake calipers; 

 Radiator; 
 Steering, including the steering gear 

housing and all internal parts, power 
steering pump, valve body, piston, 
and rack; and 

 Alternator, generator, starter, and 
ignition system, excluding the 

battery. 
 

WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO TO GET MY 
CAR REPAIRED UNDER THE 

WARRANTY? 

 
You must take the car back to the dealer 

before the warranty expires and provide 
written notice of the defect to the 

dealer. 
 
 

 
 

 



The Regulated Industries Complaints 
Office  receives, resolves, investigates 

and prosecutes complaints relating to the 
industries, boards, and commissions 

regulated by the department. 

 
Call the DCCA Consumer Resource 

Center at 587-4272, if you have a 
consumer complaint against a merchant, 
car dealership, and other businesses and 

licensed professionals in Hawaii. 
 

If you are calling from the Neighbor 
Islands, call via the state toll free 

telephone number for Kauai 274-3141 
extension 74272; the Big Island 974-
4000 extension 74272; Maui 984-2400 

extension 74272; Molokai and Lanai 1-
800-468-4644 extension 74272. 

 
We will assist you in handling your 
complaint. 

 
 
MAUI OFFICE...................................243-5808 
1063 Lower Main Street, Suite C-216 
Wailuku, HI 96793 

KAUAI OFFICE.................................274-3200 
3060 Eiwa Street, Suite 204 
Lihue, HI 96766 

HILO OFFICE....................................933-8846 
120 Pauahi Street, Ste. 212 
Hilo, HI 96720 

KONA OFFICE..................................327-9590 
75-170 Hualalai Road, Room C-309 
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

The language of this brochure is for 

informational purposes only.  This brochure 

is intended as a reference and does not 

provide legal advice.  The information 

contained in this brochure is subject to 

change.  

 

This printed material can be made available 

for individuals with special needs in braille, 

large print or audio tape.  Please submit your 

request to the Complaints and Enforcement 

Officer at 586-2666. 

 

RICO website: cca.hawaii.gov/rico/ 

RICO e-mail:    rico@dcca.hawaii.gov 

 
Check Out a Business Online at 
cca.hawaii.gov/rico/business_online/ 
for: 
 
 Business/Licensee Complaint History 

Search 
 Business Name Search 
 Professional and Vocational License 

Search 

 General Excise Tax License Search 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TIPS ON  

 
 

 

 

           

 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 

 

Regulated Industries 
Complaints Office 
235 S. Beretania Street, Ninth Floor 
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 
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