Here are some things to keep in mind about Hawaii's used car sales and warranty law.

WHAT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE DEALERSHIP?

The dealer must provide the following:

- a written disclosure of all material mechanical defects known to the dealer and whether any inspections have been conducted to determine if there are any; and
- 2) a written warranty on covered major mechanical parts of the vehicle if they fail during the specified warranty period.

(A material mechanical defect is one which affects the vehicle's safety and use)

DOES MY CAR REQUIRE A WARRANTY?

Generally, if your car:

- is less than 5 years old;
- costs more than \$1,500;
- has between 12,000 and 75,000 miles;
- is not custom built or modified for show purposes or racing;
- is not inoperable or deemed a "total loss,"

it must be sold with a written warranty.

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE DEALERSHIP IS UNABLE TO REPAIR MY CAR?

If the dealer fails to correct a defect or malfunction as required by the warranty after a reasonable period of time, the dealer must either refund your money or replace the car.

WHAT ARE THE WARRANTY PERIODS?

Cars with:

Less than 25,000 miles – 90 days or 5,000 miles

Between 25,000 and 49,000 - 60 days or 3,000 miles

Between 50,000 and 74,999 – 30 days or 1,000 miles.

WHAT PARTS ARE COVERED BY THE WARRANTY?

Only specified major mechanical parts are covered by this warranty. Parts that are of a cosmetic nature are not included.

Covered parts are:

 Engine, including all lubricated parts, water pump, fuel pump, manifolds, engine block, cylinder head, rotary engine housings, flywheel gaskets, and seals;

- Transmission, including the transmission case, internal parts, torque converter, gaskets, and seals, except four-wheel drive vehicles are excluded from coverage as provided for in this paragraph;
- Drive axle, including front and rear drive axle housings and internal parts, axle shafts, propeller shafts, and universal joints, except fourwheel drive vehicles are excluded from coverage as provided in this paragraph;
- Brakes, including master cylinder, vacuum assist booster, wheel cylinders, hydraulic lines and fittings, and disc brake calipers;
- Radiator:
- Steering, including the steering gear housing and all internal parts, power steering pump, valve body, piston, and rack; and
- Alternator, generator, starter, and ignition system, excluding the battery.

WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO TO GET MY CAR REPAIRED UNDER THE WARRANTY?

You must take the car back to the dealer before the warranty expires and provide written notice of the defect to the dealer.

The Regulated Industries Complaints
Office receives, resolves, investigates
and prosecutes complaints relating to the
industries, boards, and commissions
regulated by the department.

Call the DCCA **Consumer Resource Center** at **587-4272**, if you have a consumer complaint against a merchant, car dealership, and other businesses and licensed professionals in Hawaii.

If you are calling from the Neighbor Islands, call via the state toll free telephone number for Kauai 274-3141 extension 74272; the Big Island 974-4000 extension 74272; Maui 984-2400 extension 74272; Molokai and Lanai 1-800-468-4644 extension 74272.

We will assist you in handling your complaint.

MAUI OFFICE	243-5808
1063 Lower Main Street, Suite C-216	
Wailuku, HI 96793	
KAUAI OFFICE	274-3200
3060 Eiwa Street, Suite 204	
Lihue, HI 96766	
HILO OFFICE	933-8846
120 Pauahi Street, Ste. 212	
Hilo, HI 96720	
KONA OFFICE	327-9590
75-170 Hualalai Road, Room C-309	
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740	

The language of this brochure is for informational purposes only. This brochure is intended as a reference and does not provide legal advice. The information contained in this brochure is subject to change.

This printed material can be made available for individuals with special needs in braille, large print or audio tape. Please submit your request to the Complaints and Enforcement Officer at 586-2666.

RICO website: cca.hawaii.gov/rico/ RICO e-mail: rico@dcca.hawaii.gov

Check Out a Business Online at cca.hawaii.gov/rico/business_online/for:

- ✓ Business/Licensee Complaint History Search
- ✓ Business Name Search
- ✓ Professional and Vocational License Search
- ✓ General Excise Tax License Search

TIPS ON





Regulated Industries Complaints Office

235 S. Beretania Street, Ninth Floor Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 cca.hawaii.gov/rico/

(rev. 1/2014)