
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes (“HRS”) section 436B-7 and chapter 91, notice is 

hereby given that the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division (“PVL”) and the Regulated 

Industries Complaints Office (“RICO”) will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, July 6, 2016, at 

10:00 a.m., in the King Kalakaua Conference Room, First Floor, King Kalakaua Building, 

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 335 Merchant Street, Honolulu, Hawaii, to hear 

all persons interested in the proposed amendments to Hawaii Administrative Rules (“HAR”) 

chapter 16-53, pertaining to fees. 

The purposes of the proposed amendments are to:  (1) Increase and or right-size the fee 

structures of the 49 regulatory licensing areas in the PVL and RICO divisions of the Department 

of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (“DCCA”); (2) In addition to technical, non-substantive 

revisions throughout the chapter, changes are made to Subchapter 1 – General Provisions; and 

Subchapter 2 – Fees. 

There are approximately 149,000 licensees in the State.  Fees have not increased since 

1982, when DCCA became self-sufficient.  Although gross revenues to the divisions have 

gradually increased as the number of licensees have increased, PVL and RICO are both finding it 

increasingly difficult to implement necessary improvement to services, as hard costs continue to 

rise. In summary, initial license fees, renewal fees, compliance resolution fund fees, and 

education fund fees will be increased by an average of 37.1% for the following licensing areas:  

HRS chapters 373, 436E, 437, 437B, 438, 439, 440, 441, 442, 443B, 444, 447, 448, 448E, 448F, 

448H, 451A, 451J, 452, 453, 453D, 455, 457, 457B, 457G, 458, 459, 460J, 461, 461J, 462A, 

463, 464, 465, 466, 466K, 467, 467E, 468E, 468L, 468M, 471, 484, 514A/B, and 514E. 

All interested persons shall be afforded the opportunity to submit data, views, or 

arguments, orally or in writing, at the time of hearing.  All persons wishing to submit written 

testimony are requested to email all written testimony by Wednesday, June 29, 2016, to 

pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov. Written testimony via regular mail will also be accepted at the address 

noted below. 
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A copy of the proposed rules will be mailed to any person who requests a copy upon 

receipt of $8.99 for the copy and postage.  Please submit your request to the Professional and 

Vocational Licensing Division at the address noted below or contact the Professional and 

Vocational Licensing Division at (808) 586-2690. 

Copies may be picked up at the following address between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., 

Monday through Friday, excluding holidays:  Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 

Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, 335 Merchant Street, Room 343, Honolulu, 

Hawaii  96813.  The cost of a copy, $7.00, is due and payable at the time of pick up. 

Further, the proposed rules may be reviewed in person free of charge at the Professional 

and Vocational Licensing Division at the address and hours of operation printed above.  In 

addition, the full text of the proposed rules is available and can be downloaded free of charge 

from the website of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs:  

cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/har/proposed; click on Proposed HAR Chapter 53 – Fees Relating to Boards 

and Commissions. 

Individuals who require special needs accommodations are invited to call Celia Suzuki at 

(808) 586-2690 at least four (4) working days prior to the hearing.

      Catherine P. Awakuni-Colón, Director
      Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs 
      State  of  Hawaii  


