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SUBCHAPTER 1
GENERAL PROVISIONS

816-113-1 _Objective.This chapter is intended to clarify and implement
chapter 448F, Hawaii Revised Statutes, to the end that the provisions thereunder
may best be effectuated and the public interest most effectively served.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)

816-113-2 _Definitions.As used in this chapter:

"Apprentice” means a person who is training to become a licensed
electrologist, and who is under supervision and direction of a licensed electrologist
at an electrology premise that is in compliance with the department of health
requirements.

"Electrologist” means any person who for compensation, removes hair from
the human body using a needle inserted in the hair follicle and uses direct electric
current or shortwave alternating current to destroy the follicle but does not include
any hair removal system that does not penetrate the skin.

"Electrology" means the practice of removing hair from the human body
using a needle inserted in the hair follicle and using direct electrical current,
shortwave alternating current or a combination to disable the follicle but does not
include any hair removal system that does not penetrate the skin.
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816-113-7

"Electrology experience" means practicing electrology without supervision.

"Electrology premise” means any establishment or place of business where
the practice of electrology is engaged or carried on and is the primary purpose of
that establishment or business.

"Electrology training" means attendance at a recognized electrology school
and/or apprenticing under supervision of a qualified electrologist. [Eff 1/13/94]
(Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-2)

816-113-3 _Notification of changesA licensed electrologist shall report
to the department the following changes within fifteen days of the changes:
(1) Change of personal name; and
(2) Change of address. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp:
HRS §448F-4)

816-113-4 Display of license. The license shall be conspicuously
displayed in the place of business, and evidence of current validation shall be in
the possession of the licensee at all times of practice. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-5_Duplicate licensdJpon written request to the department and
payment of a fee, a duplicate license may be issued. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 88448F-4, 436B-15)

816-113-6 _Familiarity with statutes and rulesEvery licensee shall
become familiar with chapter 448F, HRS, and this chapter. This chapter and
chapter 448F, HRS, shall apply to all electrologists in the State of Hawaii, and all
electrologists shall at all times comply with this chapter and with all applicable
laws of the State, including chapter 321, HRS, and the various counties.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)

816-113-7 _Fees.(a) The fees for electrologists shall be as provided in
this section:
(1) Applicationfee. . ........ ... ... . .. $ 50
(2) Examination and other examination related fees as determined by
contract between the director and a professional testing service
(3) Original licensefee. . . ....... ... .. ... ... $ 25



8§16-113-7

(A)  First year of the biennium (original license fee,

plus one-half of the biennial renewal fee). . . . . $ 50
(B) Second year of the biennium (original
licensefee). . ......... ... ... .. ... ... ... $ 25
4) Renewal fee. ... ... ... .. .. . .. . . i $ 50
(5) Restorationfee......... ... ... ... ... . ... $ 50
(6) Duplicate licensefee . . ....................... $ 15
(7) Compliance resolution fund:
(A)  Compliance resolution fund fee. . . ... ....... $ 20
(B)  Annual compliance resolution fund fee. . ... .. $ 20
(C)  Biennial compliance resolution fund fee . . . . .. $ 40

(b) The application fee is nonrefundable.

(c) The dishonoring of any check upon first deposit shall result in the
assessment of a penalty fee for dishonored checks. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
88448F-4, 436B-15) (Imp: HRS 88448F-4, 436B-15)

SUBCHAPTER 2
QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE

816-113-11 _Application. A person applying for a license to practice

electrology shall:

(1) File a notarized application form or forms prescribed by the
director;

(2) Be at least eighteen years of age;

3) Provide verification of completing the requirements for licensure
pursuant to sections 16-113-14, 16-113-15, and 16-113-16 relating
to graduation from a school, or 16-113-14, 16-113-15, and
16-113-17 relating to apprenticeship, or 16-113-14, 16-113-15 and
16-113-18;

4) Submit the appropriate fees; and

(5) Be subject to an examination pursuant to section 16-113-19.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)

816-113-12_Filing deadlineTo qualify for examination an applicant shall
file a completed electrologist application with the department at least seven weeks
prior to the examination date as determined by the director. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth:
HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)
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816-113-13 _Abandonment of application An application shall be
considered to be abandoned if all requirements, including filing of forms, required
documents and payment of fees have not been met within one year from the date
first filed. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-14 _Qualification requirement#\ person applying for a license
to practice electrology shall:
Be at least eighteen years of age; and
Except as provided in paragraph (3) below, comply with the
curriculum requirements described in section 16-113-15, and
evidence satisfactory completion of the curriculum by:

(1)
(2)

(3)

(A)
(B)
(©)

Providing evidence of graduating from a recognized
electrology school pursuant to section 16-113-16; or
Providing evidence of completing apprenticeship training
pursuant to section 16-113-17; or

Providing evidence of completing a combination of
electrology schooling and apprenticeship training pursuant
to section 16-113-18.

Exceptions:

(A)

(B)

(©)

A person who was recognized by the department of health
to practice electrology prior to June 25, 1990, shall be
issued a license, subject to filing an application prescribed
by the director and paying all applicable fees.

A person practicing electrology in this State during the
period from May 13, 1986, through the effective date of
this rule and is able to verify at least one (1) year of
experience in the practice of electrology shall be deemed to
have satisfied the apprenticeship requirements of section 16-
113-17, and shall be subject to section 16-113-11.

A person who has electrology training but not in
compliance with the curriculum requirements of section
16-113-15, may qualify for licensure by providing
verification of at least one (1) year of experience and shall
be subject to section 16-113-11. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-15 _Curriculum requirements for schools and apprenticeships.
(a) Sixty minutes shall constitute one curriculum hour. Clinical training shall be
actual hours of practice and shall not include time spent waiting for clients.
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(b) The curriculum of a recognized electrology school shall consist of
a minimum of 600 hours, and shall include 200 hours of theoretical training, and
400 hours of clinical training. At least eighty (80) hours of clinical training shall
consist of practicing electrology skills in the clinical training subjects using
mannequins/models which shall be completed prior to practicing on clients.

(c) The curriculum of apprenticeship training shall consist of a
minimum of 800 hours over a period of not less than six (6) months, and shall
include 200 hours of theoretical training, and 600 hours of clinical training. At
least 120 hours of clinical training shall consist of practicing electrology skills in
the clinical training subjects using mannequins/models which shall be completed
prior to practicing on clients.

(d) The curriculum of a combined recognized electrology school and
apprenticeship training shall consist of a minimum of 700 hours, and shall include
200 hours of theoretical training, and 500 hours of clinical training. At least 100
hours of clinical training shall consist of practicing electrology skills in the clinical
training subjects using mannequins/models which shall be completed prior to
practicing on clients.

(e) The curriculum for a school, apprenticeship, and combined
school/apprenticeship shall include, but not be limited to, the subjects described
in "Electrology Curriculum,” dated January 11, 1993, and identified as Appendix
A, located at the end of this chapter and made a part of this chapter.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)

816-113-16 _Electrology school standards; verificatia. Standards for

an electrology school shall consist of:

(2) Accreditation by a recognized national or regional accrediting
agency, or licensure in any U. S. jurisdiction as an electrology
school,

(2)  Administration of a clinical practical examination by the school
before graduating a student; and

3) Theoretical and clinical training in accordance with the curriculum
set forth in section 16-113-15.

(b) Verification of graduation from a recognized electrology school

shall consist of submittal of:

(1) Official school transcript, photostatic copy of diploma, certificate
or other certified documents from a school meeting the
requirements of section (a) above, evidencing completion of the
required theoretical and clinical training; or
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(2)

(3)

§16-113-17

Notarized affidavit or statement bearing the official seal of the
school or training program certifying to the applicant’s satisfactory
completion of the required theoretical and clinical training; or

If the school is no longer in existence, the applicant may submit a
sworn notarized affidavit so stating and shall name the school, its
address, dates of enrollment and theoretical and clinical training
completed, and such other information and documents as the
department may deem necessary. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-17_Apprenticeship training standards; verificati(a). Standards
for apprenticeship training:

(1)

(2)
3)
(4)

(5)
(b)

Training of an apprentice shall be accomplished by a licensed
electrologist who has at least two years full-time experience as a
licensed electrologist;

Theoretical and clinical training shall be in accordance with the

curriculum set forth in section 16-113-15;

The licensed electrologist shall be responsible for the supervision
and direction of the apprentice;

The apprenticeship training shall occur at an electrology premise
that is in compliance with the requirements of the department of
health; and

The apprenticeship training shall comply with all applicable laws

of this State regarding employment and training.

Verification of completing an apprenticeship training shall be

provided on a form prescribed by the director and shall contain:

(1)

(2)

The name, license number and original date of licensure of the
licensed electrologist under whom the applicant served the
apprenticeship training, the street address of the business, the
number of completed hours of theoretical training, the number of
completed hours of clinical training, and a statement of assigned
duties performed by the applicant; and

Certification by the licensed electrologist under oath that the
applicant completed a course of theoretical and clinical training
under the licensed electrologist’s supervision and direction over a
period of six months and a minimum of 800 hours. [Eff 1/13/94]
(Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)
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816-113-18 Combined training standards; verificatida) Standards of
combined electrology school and apprenticeship training shall be pursuant to
sections 16-113-16 and 16-113-17, respectively.

(b) Verification of combined electrology school and apprenticeship
training shall be pursuant to sections 16-113-16 and 16-113-17 respectively, and
shall consist of a minimum of 700 hours to include 200 hours of theoretical
training and 500 hours of clinical training. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4)
(Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

8§16-113-19 _Examination.A person applying for a license to practice
electrology shall achieve a passing score on the electrology examination
administered by the department. The department may contract with a professional
testing service to administer the examination. The examination shall be designed
to test the applicant’s theoretical and clinical knowledge at minimum entry level
in the practice of electrology. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8§8448F-4, 448F-5)
(Imp: HRS §8448F-4, 448F-5)

816-113-20 _ReexaminationAn applicant who fails to achieve a passing
score may repeat the examination any number of times, provided the applicant
files the appropriate forms and pays the required fees. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
88448F-4, 448F-5) (Imp: HRS 8§8448F-4, 448F-5)

816-113-21_FrequencyExaminations shall be conducted within the State
at least once a year. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 88448F-4, 448F-5) (Imp: HRS
88448F-4, 448F-5)

816-113-22 _Passing scorélhe passing score for the examination shall
be 75.00 points. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 88448F-4, 448F-5) (Imp: HRS
§8448F-4,448F-5)

SUBCHAPTER 3
LICENSE RENEWALS

816-113-25_Biennial license renewdk) Application for biennial license
renewal, regardless of the issuance date of the license, shall be on a form provided
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by the department on or before December 31 of each even-numbered year and
shall be accompanied by the appropriate fees.

(b) A biennial renewal application transmitted by mail shall be
considered filed when due if the envelope bears a postmark of December 31 of
each even-numbered year. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-9) (Imp: HRS
8448F-9)

816-113-26 _Restoration(a) Failure to timely renew a license or pay all
applicable fees shall cause the license to be automatically forfeited. A license
which has been forfeited may be restored within one year after the date of
forfeiture upon written application, and payment of all applicable fees including
renewal and restoration fees.

(b) Any person who fails to restore their electrologist license within
one year from the date of forfeiture shall be required to apply for licensure as a
new applicant and meet all licensing requirements unless the director is satisfied
that the person’s failure is due to circumstances beyond the person’s control.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §8448F-4, 448F-9, 436B-14) (Imp: HRS §8§448F-4,
448F-9, 436B-14)

SUBCHAPTER 4
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE

816-113-30_Electrology standards of practi¢a) All instruments used in
electrology procedures shall be either disposed of or cleaned and then sterilized
between clients.

(b) A proper hygienic environment shall be maintained and
infection-control procedures followed to minimize the risk of transmission of
infectious diseases. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-31 _Electrology premise standardsThe standards for an
electrology premise shall be in compliance with the requirements established by
the department of health, to include but not limited to sanitation, safety,
sterilization, and adequate facility and equipment to practice electrology.
[Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS §448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)
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816-113-32_Electrology equipmenga) Epilators shall be approved by the
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and conform to Federal Food and
Drug Administration (FDA) standards.

(b) Epilators shall be maintained in proper working order.

(©) Optimum timing and intensity shall be used during treatment to
effect proper epilation.

(d) An electrologist shall have a professional lamp and magnification,
and professional treatment table or chair to administer treatment.

(e) Each patient shall have a clean towel or drape sheet.

() An electrologist shall have sterilization equipment on the premise,
to include soaking receptacle to cleanse and remove protein residue, and sterile
covered containers to hold electrology equipment.

(9) An electrologist shall have closed containers for clean towels or
linens, and a separate covered container for soiled materials. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth:
HRS 8§448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-33_Electrology procedurga) The electrologist shall provide an
explanation of the electrology practice prior to treatment, to include but not
limited to:

Q) Treatment procedure;

(2) Modality to be used;

3) Hair growth cycles;

(4) Regrowth;

5) Follow-up treatment;

(6) Possible tissue reaction after treatment; and

(7) Importance of after-treatment care.

(b) The electrologist shall have a complete case history of each patient
to include but not limited to:

(2) Name, address, telephone number, and date of birth;

(2) Medical history and current update;

(3) Prior history of controlling or removing hair;

4) Condition of tissue before treatment and any subsequent change;

5) Pattern and structure of hair growth and significant subsequent

change;

(6) Date of each treatment;

(7) Area of treatment; and

(8) Duration of treatment.

(c) The electrologist shall ensure the following during electrology
treatments:

(2) Use of only approved modalities (electrolysis, thermolysis, or the

blend);
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(2) Practice in a department of health approved premise;
3) Washing of hands with soap and warm water immediately before
and after treating a patient;
(4) Use of a clean drape between patient and electrologist wherever
body contact is made;
5) Use of a sterile needle and forcep for each patient;
(6) Cleansing the patient’s skin area with approved antiseptic solution;
(7 Mucous membranes, external auditory canal of the ear, and moles
are not to be treated without written approval of a licensed
physician;
(8) Eyelash hairs are not to be treated;
(9) Treatment is limited only to areas that are not infected with a
contagious disease or skin malignancy; and
(10)  All containers shall be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose
their contents.
(d) The electrologist shall only use appropriate antiseptic applications
after treatment.
(e) The electrologist shall provide homecare instructions to each patient
following treatment. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS 8448F-4)

816-113-34 _Advertisement.(a) An electrologist shall be identified in
advertisements, brochures, and promotional material by the name indicated on the
license pocket identification card. All advertisements, brochures, and promotional
materials printed by or caused to be printed shall include the license number of
the electrologist.

(b) An electrologist shall not misrepresent one’s title, qualification, and
affiliation in an advertisement. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4) (Imp: HRS
§448F-7)

816-113-35 _Limitations on license.In disciplining a licensee in a
proceeding under section 448F-7, HRS, the director may, in addition to any other
disciplinary actions authorized by law, impose one or more of the following
actions:

(1) Enroliment in additional educational and training courses;

(2) Performance of public service;

3) Supervision by a licensed electrologist;

4) Evaluation prior to return to practice;

(5) Limitation of the licensee’s practice; and
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(6) Subject to an examination. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8448F-4)
(Imp: HRS 8448F-7)

SUBCHAPTER 5
HEARINGS

816-113-39 _Denial. In the event an application is denied, the director
shall notify the applicant in writing of the action, which shall include a concise
statement of the reasons and a statement informing the applicant of the right to a
hearing if so desired. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS 8436B-24) (Imp: HRS 8§436B-
24)

816-113-40_Demand for hearind\ny person whose application has been
denied by the director shall be entitled to a hearing, provided that a demand for
a hearing is filed with the director within sixty days of the date of the letter
informing the applicant of the denial of the application. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth:
HRS 8436B-24) (Imp: HRS §436B-24)

816-113-41_Proceedings on demand for heariliga demand for hearing
is filed within the time prescribed, the director shall order a hearing upon notice,
which shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of chapter 91, HRS,
and chapter 16-201, HAR, relating to contested cases. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: HRS
8436B-24) (Imp: HRS 8436B-24)

816-113-42 _Administrative practice and procedufde rules of practice
and procedure for electrologists shall be as provided in chapter 16-201, the rules
of practice and procedure of the department, which are incorporated by reference
and made a part of this chapter. [Eff 1/13/94] (Auth: 88436B-24, 91-2) (Imp:
HRS 8§8436B-24, 91-2)

816-113-43 _Severability. If any section of this chapter is declared
unconstitutional, or the applicability thereof to any person or circumstance is held
invalid, the constitutionality of the remainder of this chapter and applicability
thereof to other persons and circumstances shall not be affected. [Eff 1/13/94]
(Auth: HRS 8§448F-4) (Imp: HRS §448F-4)
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The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs adopted Chapter
16-113, relating to electrologists on November 12, 1993, following a public
hearing held on the same date, after public notices were given in the Honolulu
Advertiser, the Kauai Times, the Maui News, the Hawaii Tribune-Herald, and the

West-Hawaii Today on October 10, 1993.

These rules shall take effect ten days after filing with the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor.

/s/ Clifford K. Higa
CLIFFORD K. HIGA
Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

APPROVED AS TO FORM: Date: 12/13/93

/sl James C. Paige
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED: Date:  1/3/94

/s/ John Waihee
JOHN WAIHEE
Governor of Hawaii

January 3, 1994
Filed
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DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Adoption of Chapter 16-113
Hawaii Administrative Rules

November 12, 1993
SUMMARY

Chapter 16-113, Hawaii Administrative Rules, entitled "Electrologist” is
adopted.

Effective 1/13/94



