BOARD OF PRIVATE DETECTIVES AND GUARDS

Frequently Asked Questions
How can | find out if a person is licensed as a private detective, guard, or agency?

Click here http://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvisearch/ for the website to verify a license, or call
(808) 586-3000.

How do | file a complaint against a private detective, guard, agency, or guard
employee?

Click here http://cca.hawaii.gov/rico for the website to the Regulated Industries
Complaints Office or call them at (808) 587-4727 and select menu option #3.

What are the basic requirements for licensure?
Entity:

1. Have in its employ a principal detective or guard who shall be fully responsible
for the direct management and control of the detective or guard agency and the
agency’s employees when detective or guard services are being provided;

2. Provide employment records of each officer, director, partner, manager, or
member covering the last 10 years;

3. Provide criminal history record checks for each officer, director, partner,
manager, or member. Submit to a FBI and Hawaii State fingerprint check
through the Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center (“‘HCJDC”).

Applicants shall be fingerprinted electronically at Fieldprint Inc. locations
nationwide or any other fingerprinting agency approved to send electronic
fingerprints to the HCJDC.

Please visit Fieldprint Inc. at http://fieldprinthawaii.com to make an appointment,
inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or
call (877) 614-4361.

Fees for the FBI and State of Hawaii Criminal history record checks shall be paid
directly to Fieldprint and will be electronically sent to the HCJDC.

4. Verify that the entity is properly registered with the Business Registration Division
(BREG), Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), P.O. Box 40,
Honolulu, HI 96810. Please contact them for the proper forms, at
(808) 586-2727 or visit their website at:
https://hbe.ehawaii.gov/documents/search.html to order “Certificates of Good
Standing” forms, etc;

. If the entity has been registered in this state for LESS THAN ONE (1)
YEAR, ATTACH a “filed-stamped” copy of the document filed with BREG;
or the same certificate mentioned above.


http://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
http://cca.hawaii.gov/rico
http://fieldprinthawaii.com/
http://www.businessregistrations.com/home.html
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. If the entity has been registered in this state for MORE THAN ONE (1)
YEAR, ATTACH a current “Certificate of Good Standing” issued not more
than 1 year ago.

If applicant will be using a trade name, attach a current “filed-stamped” copy of
the “Application for registration of Trade Name” approved by the Business
Registration Division. You may contact them at (808) 586-2727,

Provide a business location in Hawaii where the firm will receive service of
process;

Provide a bond of not less than $5,000 issued by a surety authorized to conduct
business in this State;

If intending to use a badge, uniform, identification, or emblem, provide a sufficient
number of 8°x10” colored photographs of your agency’s guard uniform and 3”"x5”
colored photographs of your agency’s emblem, badges and identification card for
the Board and police department of each county (ies) in which you intend to do
business. Indicate the counties in which you will be operating.

Employ registered guard employees. Act 208, SLH 2010 (HRS 463-10.5)
requires all guards acting in a guard capacity to be registered with the Board.

Principal/Sole Proprietor:

1.

2.

Be at least 18 years of age;
Provide evidence of a high school education or its equivalent;

Verify at least 4 years of full-time investigational or guard work. The Board may
accept:

A. For persons applying to be private detectives, employment:
i. Under the supervision of a licensed private detective;

ii. As a police officer with a police department of a state or political
subdivision thereof;

iii. As an investigator with any federal, state, county, or municipal
government agency; or

(Y2 As an investigator by an attorney-at-law or law firm.
B. For persons applying to be guards, employment:
i. Under the supervision of a licensed guard,

il. As a guard by a private employer;
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iii. As a police officer with a police department of a state or political
subdivision thereof; or

iv. As a guard with any federal, state, county, or municipal
government agency.

Pass an examination;

Not be presently suffering from any psychiatric or psychological disorder which is
directly related and detrimental to a person’s performance in the profession
(private detective or guard);

Not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a crime which reflects unfavorably
on the fitness of the applicant to engage in the profession (private
detective/guard), unless the conviction has been annulled or expunged by court
order;

Possess a history of honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity and fair dealing;

Submit to a FBI and Hawaii State fingerprint check through the Hawaii Criminal
Justice Data Center (“HCJDC”).

Applicants shall be fingerprinted electronically at Fieldprint Inc. locations
nationwide or any other fingerprinting agency approved to send electronic
fingerprints to the HCJDC.

Please visit Fieldprint Inc. at http:/fieldprinthawaii.com to make an appointment,
inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or
call (877) 614-4361.

Fees for the FBI and State of Hawaii Criminal history record checks shall be paid
directly to Fieldprint and will be electronically sent to the HCJDC.

Employ registered guard employees. Act 208, SLH 2010 requires all guards
acting in a guard capacity to be registered with the Board.

Guard Employee:

1.

2.

Be not less than eighteen (18) years of age;
Possess a high school education or its equivalent;

Not be presently suffering from any psychiatric or psychological disorder which is
directly related and detrimental to a person's performance in the profession;

Not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a crime which reflects unfavorably
on the fitness of the individual to act as a guard, unless the conviction has been
annulled or expunged by court order; provided that the individual shall submit to
a national criminal history record check as authorized by federal law, including,


http://fieldprinthawaii.com/
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but not limited to the Private Security Officer Employment Authorization Act of
2004, and specified in the rules of the Board;

Successfully complete eight (8) hours of classroom instruction given by a Board
approved instructor on a Board approved curricula before the first day of service;
and

Four (4) hours of classroom instruction biennially thereafter.

Submit to a FBI and Hawaii State fingerprint check through the Hawaii Criminal
Justice Data Center (“HCJDC”).

Applicants shall be fingerprinted electronically at Fieldprint Inc. locations
nationwide or any other fingerprinting agency approved to send electronic
fingerprints to the HCJDC.

Please visit Fieldprint Inc. at http:/fieldprinthawaii.com to make an appointment,
inquire about other available site locations on the Continental United States, or
call (877) 614-4361.

Fees for the FBI and State of Hawaii Criminal history record checks shall be paid
directly to Fieldprint and will be electronically sent to the HCJDC.

How are applications obtained?

You may:

1. Download the application at
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvil/boards/private/application_publications;

2. Call (808) 586-3000 to request an application; or

3. Submit a written request to:

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Professional and Vocational Licensing Branch
P.O. Box 3469

Honolulu, HI 96801

What are the fees involved in obtaining and maintaining licensure?

Application fee: Entity ($100) Principal/Sole Proprietor ($50)
Guard Employee (None)

Examination fee: Principal/Sole Proprietor ($50)

Finger printing fee: Fieldprint: $17.50

FBI Criminal History fee: $16.50


http://fieldprinthawaii.com/
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/application_publications
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State of Hawalii
Criminal History fee: $30.00

License fees: Entity ($317) if licensed between July 1% even-numbered year to
June 30 odd-numbered year; and ($126) if licensed between July
1%t odd-numbered year to June 30 even-numbered year.

Principal/Sole Proprietor ($256) if licensed between July 1%
even-numbered year to June 30, odd-numbered year; and ($96) if
Licensed between July 1% odd-numbered year to June 30, even-
numbered year.

Guard Employee ($126) if licensed between July 1st even-
numbered year to June 30, odd-numbered year; and ($86) if
Licensed between July 1st odd-numbered year to June 30, even-
numbered year.

Renewal fees: Entity ($380) (Renewal fee $246/CRF $134)
Principal/Sole Proprietor ($318) (Renewal fee $184/CRF $134)
Guard Employee ($80) (Renewal fee $36/CRF $44)

Is verification of bonds required at the time of application?

No. Bond requirements shall be submitted prior to licensure, and need not be submitted
at the time of application. (There is no bond requirement for guard employees.)

Are photographs of uniforms, badges, identification, emblems required at the time
of application?

No. Photographs of these items are only required if an applicant intends to use them
and may be submitted prior to licensure. Applicants must submit for approval one set of
photographs for the Board and each county police department in which the applicant
intends to conduct business.

Can an individual be the principal guard or detective for more than one entity?
A guard or private detective shall not serve as principal guard or detective for more than

one agency unless that guard or private detective obtains approval from the Board of
Private Detectives and Guards and meets one of the following:

1. There is a common ownership of at least fifty-one percent of the equity of each
entity for which the individual acts as the responsible principal; or

2. An entity applying for an agency license is a subsidiary of or joint venture with
another licensed firm; or

3. There is an immediate and direct family relationship between the responsible
principal and the officers, directors, members, managers, or partners of the other
licensed firm for which the individual acts as the responsible principal; or
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4, There is an immediate and direct family relationship between the officers,
directors, members, managers, and partners of all detective or guard entities for
which the individual acts as the responsible principal; and
5. The board is satisfied that it is in the public’s interest and that the principal for

more than one agency.
Does Hawaii have reciprocal agreements with other states?
No. All applicants must meet the same licensing and examination requirements.
Q: Does the Board of Private Detectives and Guards accept any form of education
(i.e. Academic courses, academic degrees, home study courses etc) in lieu of the

4 years of investigational or guard work experience?

A: No. Each applicant shall verify 4 years of full-time investigative or guard work to qualify
for licensure.

Q: What is required of detective or guard agency licensees when hiring employees?

If licensees hire employees to work in an investigative or guard capacity the principal
detective or guard is required to:

1. Register those employees with the Board pursuant to HRS sections 463-6 and
463-8 and HAR section 16-97-15; and

2. Submit an “Employee Registration Form (PDG-16) semi-annually (Jan. — June
due 7/31, July - Dec. due 1/31). Forms may be downloaded at
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/application publications

Note: Employers must notify the Board if they no longer have employees to stop
the reporting requirements. (PDG-18)

Q: What is required of detective or guard agency licensees if they do not intend to
hire employees or if they no longer have employees?

A: If licensees do not intend to hire employees, or if they terminate or no longer have
employees, the principal detective or guard is required to:

1. Submit an “Attestation of Licensees Intending or not to Hire Employees” form
(PDG 18); and

2. Upon employing any person, submit form (PDG 18) and henceforth comply with
HAR 816-97-15 and submit the “Employee Registration Form” (PDG 16).

Q: What are the requirements to be registered as a Guard Employee?

Effective July 1, 2013, all guards, and all agents, operatives, and assistants employed by
a guard agency, private business entity, or government agency who act in a guard


http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/application_publications
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capacity shall apply to register with the board, and meet the following registration,
instruction, and training requirements prior to acting as a guard:

1. Be not less than eighteen years of age;
2. Possess a high school education or its equivalent;
3. Not be presently suffering from any psychiatric or psychological disorder which is

directly related and detrimental to a person’s performance in the profession; and

4, Not have been convicted in any jurisdiction of a crime which reflects unfavorable
on the fitness of the individual to act as a guard, unless the conviction has been
annulled or expunged by court order; provided that the individual shall submit to
a national criminal history record check as authorized by federal law, including
but not limited to the Private Security Officer Employment Authorization Act of
2004, and specified in the rules of the board.

The Board continues to discuss implementation of Act 208 (SLH 2010). You may follow
the committee’s and Board’s progress through the Board’s minutes and documents
posted on the website of the “Board of Private Detectives and Guards” at
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvil/boards/private/.

Renewal FAQs for Detective, Guard, Agency Licenses or
Guard Employee Registration

What is the renewal window to renew a license or registration?

The time period in which renewal applications will be received will be from May 9%
through June 30, 2016. Online renewal process is faster!

To expedite the renewal process for your guard agency, principal guard, guard
employees, detective agency, or principal detective RENEW ONLINE! The online
system will post license information the next business day. Submitting hard copy
renewals will require manual processing and similar to the initial registration you must
anticipate back logs and delay as there are approximately 9,600 guard employees alone.

Employers wishing to establish a subscriber account that will allow your guard
employees to renew online using the subscriber number may do so for an annual fee.
This will enable your employees to use your subscriber account for which you will be
billed monthly. This avoids having to cut or submit separate checks!

For the PDG group which includes license types "PD", "PDA", "GD", "GDA" and "GDE"
the online renewal will allow payment by an eHawaii.gov Subscriber Services Account.

There will be 3 options for PDG licensees to pay for their renewal online.
1. Pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover Card)

2. Pay by eCheck (financial institution checking or savings account)
3. Pay by Subscriber account (requires applying for a subscriber account)


http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/private/
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SUBSCRIBER ACCOUNT

e One subscriber account may be used by multiple licensees for each renewal
payment.
There is a $75.00 annual fee for a subscriber account.

e All subscriber accounts are billed monthly.
Subscriber account may also be used for other eHawaii.gov services.

To use the subscriber account payment option: You MUST sign up for an
eHawaii.gov Subscriber Account first.

Allow 3- 4 days for processing.

FOR INFORMATION AND TO SIGN UP FOR A SUBSCRIBER ACCOUNT

Subscriber Services
https://portal.ehawaii.qgov/page/subscriber-services/

Monthly Subscriber Account Agreement
https://portal.ehawaii.gov/docs/subscriber agreement-fillable.pdf

Monthly Billing Option Change Form
https://portal.ehawaii.gov/docs/MonthlyBillingOptionChange.pdf

Subscriber Frequently Asked Questions - FAQs
https://portal.ehawaii.qov/page/subscriber-fags/

For assistance please contact eHawaii.gov customer service at (808) 695-4624.

What happens if the private detective, guard, or agency license or guard employee
registration is not renewed before it expires?

If the license or registration is not renewed by June 30 of the even-numbered year, the
license or registration is forfeited. The licensee or registrant has one year from the
expiration date to restore the forfeited license or registration by submitting all required
documents and fees, including a late renewal fee. If the license or registration is not
restored within the one year, the licensee or registrant will be treated as a new applicant
and shall meet the licensing or registration requirements at the time of application.


https://portal.ehawaii.gov/page/subscriber-services/
https://portal.ehawaii.gov/docs/subscriber_agreement-fillable.pdf
https://portal.ehawaii.gov/docs/MonthlyBillingOptionChange.pdf
https://portal.ehawaii.gov/page/subscriber-faqs/

