## NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") section 438-5 and chapter 91, notice is hereby given that the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology ("Board") will hold a public hearing on Monday, July 13, 2015 at 1:00 p.m., in the Queen Liliuokalani Conference Room, First Floor, King Kalakaua Building, Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, 335 Merchant Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, to hear all persons interested in the proposed amendments to Hawaii Administrative Rules ("HAR") chapter 16-78 pertaining to cosmetology.

The purpose of the proposed amendments is to comply with the requirements of the United States Department of Education ("USDE") for each state that regulates beauty schools to clearly demonstrate to the USDE that the laws and rules of the licensing authority differentiate between the license approvals provided to secondary and postsecondary institutions (i.e., the public is able to distinguish between licensed beauty schools offering secondary vs. postsecondary education). The Board intends to comply with the USDE's requirements by defining the terms "beauty school" and "postsecondary", which will allow Hawaii licensed beauty schools to continue to be recognized by the USDE, and ensure that students who attend these schools can continue to participate in Title IV Federal Student Aid programs.

All interested persons shall be afforded the opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at the time of hearing. All persons wishing to submit written testimony are requested to submit 10 copies of their

written testimony by Monday, June 29, 2015, to the Professional and Vocational Licensing Division ("PVLD") at the address printed below.

A copy of the proposed rules will be mailed to any person who requests a copy upon receipt of \$ 0.99 for the copy and postage. Please submit your request to the PVLD at the address noted below or contact the Board's office at (808) 586-2696.

Copies may be picked up at the following address between 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays: Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division, 335 Merchant Street, Room 329, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813. The cost of a copy, \$ 0.50, is due and payable at the time of pick up.

Further, the proposed rules may be reviewed in person free of charge at the PVLD at the address and hours of operation printed above. In addition, the full text of the proposed rules is available and can be downloaded free of charge from the following web site: http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/barber/statute\_rules/.

Individuals who require special needs accommodations are invited to call Ms. Laureen Kai at (808) 586-2696 at least four (4) working days prior to the hearing.

Lance M. Marugame, Chairperson Board of Barbering and Cosmetology State of Hawaii