
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 
 

ELECTRICIANS & PLUMBERS 
 

ELECTRICIANS 
 
Q: What are the requirements for licensure? 
 
A: 1) Provide verification of the following: 
 

TYPE OF LICENSE LICENSE 

TYPE CODE 

REQUIREMENTS 

Journey Worker Electrician EJ 5 years but not less than 10,000 hours in 
residential or commercial wiring and 
satisfactory completion accepted by a 
University of Hawaii Community College 
offering an appropriate program of study 
of 240 hours of electrical academic 
coursework. 
 

Supervising Electrician ES 4 years experience as a licensed journey 
worker electrician or equivalent. 
 

Journey Worker Industrial 
Electrician 

EJI 4 years but not less than 8,000 hours 
and satisfactory completion accepted by 
a University of Hawaii Community 
College offering an appropriate program 
of study of 200 hours of electrical 
academic coursework. 
 

Supervising Industrial Electrician ESI 3 years experience as a licensed journey 
worker industrial electrician or 
equivalent. 
 

Journey Worker Specialty 
Electrician 

EJS 3 years but not less than 6,000 hours 
and satisfactory completion accepted by 
a University of Hawaii Community 
College offering an appropriate program 
of study of 120 hours of electrical 
academic coursework. 
 

Supervising Specialty Electrician ESS 2 years experience as a licensed journey 
worker specialty electrician or 
equivalent. 
 

Maintenance Electrician EM 1 year electrical maintenance wiring and 
satisfactory completion accepted by a 
University of Hawaii Community College 
offering an appropriate program of study 
of 80 hours of electrical academic 
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coursework or 2 years of schooling in the 
trade with not less than 1,000 hours of  
hands-on lab exercises. 

 
2) Pass the Board’s examination. 

 
Q: How do I submit my electrical academic coursework material for review to 

the Honolulu Community College if it is not on the list of Approved Academic 

Coursework (http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/ep_announcement/) 

Required by HRS 448E-5? 

 

A: Provide the following when submitting material for academic course work review: 

 

 1) Verification of Completion:  Honolulu Community College requires official 

verification of completion documents that you completed training through an 

apprenticeship program, collegiate program of study, Military training, or a 

combination of each. 

 

 2) Program and Course Description:  Provide detailed program and course 

descriptions from your respective training program.  These documents are used 

to determine if the appropriate electrical content areas as defined by Hawaii 

Revised Statutes, §448E-5(b), minimum requirements, are included as part of 

the training program. 

 

 3) Contact Information:  Name, primary phone, mailing address, email address 

 

 4) Submit all documents and associated fees for review to: 

 

  Email:  honcet@hawaii.edu 

 

   or 

 

  Mail to: Honolulu Community College 

     Attention:  Non Credit Registration Office 

     874 Dillingham Boulevard 

    Honolulu, HI  96817 

 
Q: How are applications obtained? 
 
A: You may: 
  
 1) Download the application at: 

 http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication; 
 

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/news-releases/ep_announcement/
mailto:honcet@hawaii.edu
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication
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 2) Call (808) 586-3000 to request an application; or 
 
 3) Submit a written request to: Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs 

Professional & Vocational Licensing Branch 
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI  96801 

 
Q: What are the fees involved in obtaining and maintaining licensure? 
 
A: Application Fee:  $40.00 
 
 Examination Fee: $95.00 
 
 License Fee:  $275.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 1st year of 

the triennium (2011, 2014, 2017); 
 
  $183 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 2nd year of 

the triennium (2012, 2015, 2018); 
 
  $91.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 3rd year of 

the triennium (2010, 2013, 2016). 
 
 Renewal Fee: $225.00 
 
Q: What electrical code is being used in the current electricians’ examinations? 
 
A: The 2008 National Electrical Code (“NEC”). 
 
Q: When do licensed electricians renew their licenses? 
 
A: Licensed electricians are required to renew their licenses on or before June 30 every 

three years:  2014, 2017, 2020 etc. 
 
Q: Are electricians required to meet continued competency requirements to 

renew their licenses? 
 
A: All licensed electricians except the maintenance electricians must meet continued 

competency requirements to renew their license. 
 
Q: What is required of electricians to show proof of completing the continued 

competency requirement? 
 
A: The licensee shall submit (1) a copy of a certificate from a University of Hawaii 

Community College evidencing attendance at an update course of the “NEC” or (2) a 
copy of a score report from Prometric verifying successful passage of the continued 
competency exam.  Note:  For the 2014 renewal, the course or exam shall reflect 
updates to the 2011 National Electrical Code. 
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PROMETRIC 
354 Uluniu, Suite 308 
Kailua, HI  96734 
Phone:  261-8182 
 

 
 

UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII COMMUNITY COLLEGES 
 

OAHU 
Office of Continuing Education 
Honolulu Community College 
874 Dillingham Boulevard 
Honolulu, Hawaii  96817 
Phone:  (808) 845-9296 
Email:  honcet@hawaii.edu 

LEEWARD 
Office of Continuing Education & 
Workforce Development 
96-045 Ala ʿIke, Room CE-101 
Pearl City, HI  96782 
Phone:  (808) 455-0477 
Fax:  (808) 453-6730 
Email:  ocewd@hawaii.edu 
http://www.ocewd.org/ 
 

HAWAII 
Office of Continuing Education & Training 
1175 Manono St. 
Bldg. 379-A, Room 3 
Hilo, HI  96720 
Phone:  808-934-2700 
Fax:  808-934-2701 
Email:  ocethawc@hawaii.edu 
http://www.ocethawcc.org 
 

MAUI 
EdVenture 
310 W. Kaʿahumanu Ave. 
Kahului, Hawaii  96732 
Phone:  (808) 984-3231 
FAX:  (808) 984-3874 
Email:  info@edventuremaui.com 
http://maui.hawaii.edu/edventure 
 

KAUAI 
Kauai Community College  
Office of Continuing Education & Training 
3-1901 Kaumualii Hwy. 
Lihue, HI  96766 
Phone:  (808) 245-8318 
https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/office-of-continuing-education 
 

 
Q: Does the Board accept any other National Electrical Code update course at 

another institute other than at any of the State’s Community Colleges? 
 
A: Currently, the University of Hawaii Community College system has deemed only one 

other update course equivalent to their own; The Hawaii Electricians Training Fund.  
Further inquiries regarding equivalency of courses should be directed to the Honolulu 
Community College. 

 
Q: If an electrician (other than a maintenance electrician) is newly licensed 

between 6/30/14 – 6/30/15 is that electrician licensee required to meet the 
continued competency requirement to renew the licensee’s license? 

 

mailto:honcet@hawaii.edu
mailto:ocewd@hawaii.edu
http://www.ocewd.org/
mailto:ocethawc@hawaii.edu
http://www.ocethawcc.org/
mailto:info@edventuremaui.com
http://maui.hawaii.edu/edventure
https://sites.google.com/a/hawaii.edu/office-of-continuing-education
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A: No, electricians licensed within one year of the renewal date are not required to submit 

proof of meeting the continued competency requirements. 
 
PLUMBERS 
 
Q: What are the requirements for licensure? 
 
A: 

TYPE OF LICENSE LICENSE 

TYPE CODE 

HOURS / YEARS REQUIRED 

Journey Worker Plumber. PJ 5 years but not less than 10,000 hours of 
plumbing work in compliance with the Uniform 
Plumbing Code (UPC). 
 

Master Plumber  PM 2 years experience as a licensed journey 
worker plumber or equivalent. 

 
Q: How are applications obtained? 
 
A: You may: 
  
 1) Download the application at 

 http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication/ 
 
 2) Call (808) 586-3000 to request an application; or 
 
 3) Submit a written request to: Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs 

Professional & Vocational Licensing Branch 
P.O. Box 3469 
Honolulu, HI  96801 

 
Q: What are the fees involved in obtaining and maintaining licensure? 
  
A: Application Fee:  $40.00 
 
 Examination Fee: $90.00 
 
 License Fee: $225.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 1st year of 

the triennium (2012, 2015, 2018); 
 
  $150.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 2nd year of 

the triennium (2013, 2016, 2019); 
 
  $75.00 if licensed between July 1 and June 30 of the 3rd year of 

the triennium (2011, 2014, 2017). 
 
 Renewal Fee: $225.00 
  

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/electrician/application_publication/
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Q: What plumbing code is being used in the current plumbers’ examinations? 
 
A: The 2006 Uniformed Plumbing Code (“UPC”). 
 
Q: When do licensed plumbers renew their licenses? 
 
A: Licensed plumbers are required to renew their licenses on or before June 30 every three 

years:  2012, 2015, 2018 etc. 
 
Q: Are plumbers required to meet continued competency requirements to renew 

their licenses? 
 
A: Prior to the June 30, 2009 renewal of the license, and prior to every license renewal 

thereafter, all licensed plumbers must meet continued competency requirements to 
renew their license. 

 
Q: What is required of plumbers to show proof of completing the continued 

competency requirement? 
 
A: The licensee shall submit (1) a copy of a certificate from a University of Hawaii 

Community College evidencing attendance at an update course of the “UPC” or (2) a 
copy of a score report from Prometric verifying successful passage of the continued 
competency exam on the updates to the “UPC”. 

 
Q: Does the Board accept any other Uniform Plumbing Code update course at 

another institute other than at any of the State’s Community Colleges? 
 
A: Currently, the University of Hawaii Community College system is the only institution 

approved to develop and teach these courses.  Further inquiries regarding equivalency 
of courses should be directed to the Honolulu Community College. 

 
Q: If a plumber is newly licensed between June 30, 2014 and June 30, 2015 is 

that plumber licensee required to meet the continued competency 
requirement to renew the licensee’s license? 

 
A: No.  Plumbers licensed within one year of the renewal date are not required to submit 

proof of meeting the continued competency requirements. 
 
ELECTRICIANS & PLUMBERS 
 
Q: If an electrician or plumber licensee fails to restore a license w/in one year of 

the renewal date, will that licensee be made to reapply and retake the 
licensing examination? 

 
A: Yes.  To avoid having to reapply and retake the examination, it is highly recommended 

that you restore your license within one year of the date of forfeiture. 
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Q: What agency has jurisdiction over permitting requirements and electrical or 

plumbing codes? 
 
A: The various County Building Departments.  (Honolulu, Hawaii, Maui, Kauai) 
 
Q: Does Hawaii have reciprocal agreements with other states? 
 
A: No.  All applicants must meet the same licensing and examination requirements. 
 
Q: Can a licensed electrician or plumber offer to perform or enter into a contract 

to perform electrical or plumbing work? 
 
A: No.  An electrical or plumbing contractor’s license is required.  There is only one 

exception when a licensed electrician or plumber may offer to perform or enter into a 
contract to perform electrical or plumbing work and that is if the project for which the 
aggregate contract price for labor, materials, taxes, and all other items is not more than 
$1,000 and it does not require an electrical or plumbing permit. 

 


