NEIL ABERCROMBIE GOVERNOR

SHAN S. TSUTSUI LT. GOVERNOR



GORDON I. ITO INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

STATE OF HAWAI`I INSURANCE DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & CONSUMER AFFAIRS P. O. BOX 3614 HONOLULU, HAWAI`I 96811-3614 335 MERCHANT STREET, ROOM 213 HONOLULU, HAWAI`I 96813 PHONE NO: (808) 586-2790 FAX NO: (808) 586-2806 cca.hawaii.gov/ins

October 15, 2014

## DECLARATION FROM THE STATE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER REGARDING ASSISTANCE OF NONRESIDENT UNLICENSED ADJUSTERS FOR TROPICAL STORM ANA

As of October 15, 2014, Governor Neil Abercrombie signed an emergency proclamation in anticipation of the arrival of Tropical Storm Ana, which is forecast to impact the state this weekend, possibly as a hurricane.

Pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") § 431:9-201(b), Insurance Commissioner Gordon I. Ito has determined that nonresident adjusters can operate in the state without a Hawaii license to assist with the anticipated amount of work that could be more than the current capacity in the islands.

The Insurance Division wants to ensure that adjusters and insurance companies will be able to respond to the homeowners' needs within a reasonable time.

Nonresident adjusters must comply with the following in order to operate in the state without a license pursuant to this statute for up to 30 days from date of registration.

- 1. Provide to the Insurance Commissioner a certified copy of the adjuster's current license issued in another state that has substantially similar licensing requirements to HRS § 431:9-222.
- 2. Within three (3) working days of the commencement of work by the nonresident adjuster, the insurance company, independent adjusting company, or producer that is using the adjuster shall provide on its letterhead to the Insurance Commissioner:
  - a. The name of the nonresident adjuster;
  - b. The nonresident adjuster's Hawaii mailing and business addresses and phone numbers; and
  - c. The nonresident adjuster's permanent home and business addresses and phone numbers.

Any person violating this section shall be assessed a civil penalty not to exceed \$5,000 for each violation. Any person who knowingly violates this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of not less than \$1,000 and not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

This declaration will stay in effect and in force until the Insurance Commissioner determines and declares otherwise.

Declaration of the Insurance Commissioner October 15, 2014 Page 2

Any questions regarding this notification please contact the Licensing Branch at (808) 586-2788. You may also go to our website <u>http://cca.hawaii.gov/ins/</u>.

Please send documents related to the declaration to:

Email: inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov

Fax: (808) 587-6714

Hawaii Insurance Division 335 Merchant Street, Room 213 Honolulu, HI 96813

For more information and answers to frequently asked questions about emergency nonresident unlicensed adjuster registration, <u>click here</u>.