Hawaii Broadband Assistance Advisory Council

The Broadband Assistance Advisory Council (BAAC) was created to advise the director of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) on policy and funding priorities to promote and encourage use of telework alternatives for public and private employees, and to expedite deployment of affordable and accessible broadband services in Hawaii.

Members of the Broadband Assistance Advisory Council were appointed by the Senate President and the Speaker of the House. The members are:

Everett Kaneshige (BAAC Chair)
    State of Hawaii Chief Strategy Officer, Broadband

Sen. Rosalyn H. Baker
Rep. Derek S.K. Kawakami
Rep. Kyle T. Yamashita

Kevin Dayton
     County of Hawaii
Dr. David Lassner
     University of Hawaii
Mark Wong
     City and County of Honolulu

Ian Kitajima
Sharene Urakami-Oyama
Eric Yeaman
    Hawaiian Telcom


Note: BAAC member list current as of September 2014.

BAAC Meeting Minutes


Capacity Building Project Plan 2013 – 2015 (PDF)

Broadband Adoption Market Research – Residential Survey Findings – 2014 (PDF)

Broadband Adoption Market Research – Small Business Survey Findings – 2014 (PDF)