ASSOCIATED FEES: Trade Name, Trademark, Service <u>Mark Registrations</u>

• Trade Name, Trademark, Service Mark Registration: Filing Fee: \$50.00 Expedited Review: \$20.00

• Assignment of Trade Name, Trademark, Service Mark: Filing Fee: \$10.00 Expedited Review: \$20.00

• Change of Name of Registrant: Filing Fee: \$10.00 Expedited Review: \$20.00

EFFECTIVE:

JANUARY 1, 2014 TO DECEMBER 31, 2015 THE FILING FEES BELOW HAVE BEEN REDUCED.

Trade Name, Trademark, & Service Mark: \$25.00

FEES WILL AUTOMATICALLY READJUST BACK TO STATUTORY FEES ON JANUARY 1, 2016

STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS Business Registration Division 225 Marphent Street

I			

335 Merchant Street Mailing Address: P.O. Box 40, Honolulu, Hawaii 96810 Phone No. (808) 586-2727

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAME

(Chapter 482, Hawaii Revised Statutes)

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK INK

1.7	Applicant's Name:					
	Applicant's Address:					
	(including city, state, and zip code)					
2.	Registration is (check one): Image: New OR Image: Newo					
3.	Status of Applicant (check only one):					
	Unincorporated Association OR Other (explain):					
4.	If applicant is an entity, list state or country of incorporation/formation/organization:					
5.	Trade Name is:					
6.	Applicant is (check one): Originator of name OR Assignee (one to whom name was assigned to by another)					
7.	Nature of business for which the trade name is being used:					
	Pertify, under the penalties set forth in Section 482-51, Hawaii Revised Statutes, that (check one): I am the applicant OR I am the applicant of the applicant named in the foregoing application, I am authorized to sign this foregoing, and that the above statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.					
_	(Print Name) (Signature) (Date)					
by	E INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE SIDE. Application must be certified by the applicant if an individual. For corporations, application must be signed an authorized officer of the corporation. General or limited partnerships must be signed by a general partner. For LLC, must be signed and certified a manager of a manager-managed company or by a member of a member-managed company. LLP must be signed and certified by a partner.					
	(DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY) Certificate of Registration No.					
	CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAME					
In a	accordance with the provisions of Chapter 482, Hawaii Revised Statutes, this Certificate of Registration is issued to secure the aforesaid applicant					
the	use of the said TRADE NAME throughout the State of Hawaii for the term of five years from					
to	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
г.	DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS STATE OF HAWAII					
	REGISTRATION OF A TRADE NAME WITH THE DEPARTMENT DOES NOT GRANT Dated:					

INFORMATION FOR APPLICANTS FOR REGISTRATION OF TRADE NAMES

REGISTRATION OF A TRADE NAME WITH THE DEPARTMENT DOES NOT GRANT YOU OWNERSHIP OF THE TRADE NAME.

Section 482-2, Hawaii Revised Statutes, provides that an applicant for registration of trade name must file an application with the Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, certifying that the applicant is the sole and original proprietor of the trade name or the assign of the proprietor. <u>Ownership of a trade</u> <u>name is acquired by adoption and use of the trade name</u>. Before filing an application, an applicant should check the computerized list of registered names to determine if there is a registration that is substantially identical to the name he wishes to register. A check should also be made in the telephone directory of each island, the city directory and with the Department of Taxation. When an application is filed, the Business Registration Division will make a search of the registrations on record to determine that there is no other registration that is the same or substantially identical to the trade name applied for.

Section 482-3, HRS, provides that the registration will be for a term of five years from the date of filing. Registrations may be renewed for additional periods of five years from the date of renewal by filing an application and \$50.00 fee within six months <u>prior</u> to the expiration date.

Section 482-6, HRS, provides that if, after registration with the Director of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, the trade name is not used by the registrant for any period of 365 consecutive days, the trade name shall be subject to revocation. Any person desiring such revocation is required to file a verified petition with the Director requesting revocation of the trade name and setting forth facts indicating such nonuse by the registrant for a period of 365 consecutive days immediately preceding the date of filing of the petition. After granting an opportunity for hearing to the petitioner and registrant, the Director shall grant or deny the petition as the facts shall warrant.

Section 482-8, HRS, provides that any person claiming to be the owner of a trade name for which a certificate of registration has been issued to any other person, may file a verified petition with the Department for the cancellation of such registration setting forth facts in support of the claim for ownership. After granting an opportunity for hearing to the petitioner and registrant, the Director shall grant or deny the petition as the facts shall warrant.

Instructions: Application must be typewritten or printed in *black ink*, and must be *legible*. Signature must be in *black ink*. Submit application together with the appropriate fee.

Application must be signed by the applicant if an individual. For **corporations**, application must be signed by an authorized officer of the corporation. For **general or limited partnerships**, application must be signed by a general partner. For **LLC**, application must be signed by a manager of a manager-managed company or by a member of a member-managed company. For **LLP**, application must be signed by a partner.

- Line 1. State the full name of the applicant. State the complete address (including city, state, and zip code) of the applicant.
- Line 2. Check whether the trade name to be registered is a new registration or a renewal of an existing registration. <u>Renewals must be received prior to</u> the expiration date of the current registration.
- Line 3. Check one of the blocks to indicate the status of the applicant. If you check "Other," you must explain what type of entity the applicant is.
- Line 4. If the applicant is a corporation, partnership, or limited liability company, list the state or country in which it was incorporated, formed or organized. Line 5. State complete trade name to be registered. This form is not to be used to register the name of a new corporation, partnership, or limited liability company.
- Line 6. Check whether the applicant is the originator of the trade name being registered, or whether the trade name was assigned to the applicant.
- Line 7. State the nature of business to be transacted under the trade name.

Filing Fees: Filing fee (\$25.00) is not refundable. Temporary fee reduction until 12/31/2015. Make checks payable to DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS. Dishonored Check Fee \$25.00.

For any questions call (808) 586-2727. Neighbor islands may call the following numbers followed by 6-2727 and the # sign:

Kauai 274-3141; Maui 984-2400; Hawaii 974-4000, Lanai & Molokai 1-800-468-4644 (toll free). Fax: (808) 586-2733 Email Address: breg@dcca.hawaii.gov

NOTICE: THIS MATERIAL CAN BE MADE AVAILABLE FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS. PLEASE CALL THE DIVISION SECRETARY, BUSINESS REGISTRATION DIVISION, DCCA, AT 586-2744, TO SUBMIT YOUR REQUEST.ALL BUSINESS REGISTRATION FILINGS ARE OPEN TO PUBLIC INSPECTION. (SECTION 92F-11, HRS)